Holy Guacamole

May 5, 2010 at 8:33 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Happy Cinco de Mayo, amigos! I do enjoy a reason for a fine Mexican feast! Tonight’s meal was inspired by this find:

P1000339

I just combined that seasoning packet with 1/4 cup olive oil and 1/4 cup of water, mixed and marinated my chicken for about 1 hour.

Then I got to work on the guac.

P1000340

I’ve always wanted to try TJ’s guac kit. So cute that it includes all of the ingredients for muy delicioso guacamole.

P1000341

However, the ‘cados were way hard. I had to substitute in some avocados I had in reserve. It was more delicious than my un poquito amount of Spanish words can describe!

P1000342

Muy bien.

P1000343

Here’s the final plate. Chicken grilled by the husbo, arroz con frijoles negro and blue chips with guac. The husbo actually said “You need to blog about this one!”  It was that good.

Maybe you’re wondering why there’s no mention of workouts in this post. Welp, that’s because I haven’t done any since Sunday’s race. I’m playing doctor again and think I have some tendonitis in my left foot. Nothing to get crazy about, but I definitely have to give it some rest, ice, compression and elevation (RICE is the best). I hope I can get running by the weekend. I have a 5K coming up on May 22nd that I’m looking for a big PR in – so I need some track workouts ASAP!

Well, buenos noches! I hope all of my amigas are enjoying some Mexican treats – especially some Margaritas and Coronas!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. wow that is an AWESOME dinner!! Thank goodness for your inspiration. I’ve also seen those guacamole kits from TJ’s and haven’t ever made the decision to buy them. Now looking at your creation, I’m going to have to think hard before i pass it up again. 😛

  2. Oh definitely get on that guac – it is SO good. I’ve gotten about three since then and everyone has raved!


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.