Mucho March-o

March 3, 2010 at 3:24 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Happy March!  March brings lots of things that make me excited:

  1. Daylight savings time – I don’t love losing an hour of sleep, but I love longer hours of sunshine!
  2. SPRING – I am so done with winter and cannot wait for the milder temperatures and flowers blooming!
  3. Spring Training – The games don’t count, but I love when a little major league baseball is being played.
  4. St. Patrick’s Day – I’m an Irish girl.  Loves me some bagpipes and pints.
  5. Spring Break – Yes, another vacation!  Hopefully I’ll get to visit my brother in LA.

So there you have it, my top five reasons I’m giddy about March.

I just finished a kick butt workout on the treadmill.  Funny that the nights when I don’t really feel like working out turn out to be my best workouts!

Minute Speed Incline
0 – 1 6.0 2.0%
1 – 2 6.1 2.0%
2 – 3 6.2 2.0%
3 – 4 6.3 2.0%
4 – 5 6.4 2.0%
5 – 6 6.5 1.5%
6 – 7 6.6 1.5%
7 – 8 6.7 1.5%
8 – 9 6.8 1.5%
9 – 10 6.9 1.5%
10 – 11 7.0 1.0%
11 – 12 7.1 1.0%
12 – 13 7.2 1.0%
13 – 14 7.3 1.0%
14 – 15 7.4 1.0%

After that sequence, I repeated these speeds and inclines until I hit 2.5 miles.  Then I started switching speeds based on miles since I didn’t want to go back down to the slower intervals:

Mile Speed Incline
2.5-2.75 6.8 2.0%
2.75-3.0 6.9 2.0%
3.0-3.25 7.0 1.0%
3.25-3.5 7.0-8.0 1.0%

The whole 3.5 miles took me 31:19 to complete – a pace of 8:56 per mile.  Weeeeeee!  I was blasting tunes to keep me moving and finished my workout with a half mile of brisk walking to cool down.

Here are some beautiful eats from the past few days:

Chocolate-covered Strawberry Shake (a take on the cherry bomb without cherries)

  • 1.5 cups almond milk
  • a hefty handful of baby spinach
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 banana
  • 2 T cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup vanilla hemp protein powder

Verdict?  Not as good as the chocolate cherry bomb, but an acceptable substitute.

The return of soup!  I had TJ’s Lentil Vegetable.  I’ve been steering away from soup ever since I heard about potential BPA in cans.  I checked TJ’s and the lining of the can looks like it doesn’t contain the BPA, but is simple aluminum.  I hope I’m right!

Next up on the weekend goodies?  Averie’s Raw Vegan Cheesecake.  Click that link for the recipe.  It’s pretty darn tasty.

Husbo’s reaction to these little nuts – “Why are there cashews swimming in the kitchen?”  It was a legit question.

Creamy deliciousness.

I have to say, this dessert didn’t taste like cheesecake to me.  It is delicious and I’ll definitely make it again, but I just can’t call it a substitute for cheesecake.  I’m not even cheesecake’s biggest fan, so this tasty treat does just fine for me!

What about March makes you excited?  What’s your favorite healthy dessert substitution?

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I am also SO excited about daylight savings time. I will actually get to see the sun when I leave work! Hooray! That dessert looks yummy. 🙂

    • Isn’t that the best?? Makes working out after work so much easier!

  2. I of course LOVE ST.Patrick’s Day!!!! Bagpipes, Irish Step Dancers, Crazy people dressed in green- what’s not to love?? Speaking of that I will be at the RVC parade on the 20th.

    I am a simple girl when it come to dessert. I love berries with a tiny amount of fresh whip cream. Or my newest addiction – Red Mango. Their fro-yo is real yogurt and they have amazing toppings like mango, pomegranate seeds!

    • Oh Kat, I LOVE Red Mango! Is there one close by to you? There’s one near work, but I haven’t been. I love the regular yogurt with kiwi, mango and granola. Hmmm, maybe I’ll stop by after work!

      • There is one in Oceanside and Greenvale in Wheatley Plaza.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

