Cleaning – Naturally

February 16, 2010 at 5:08 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

It’s definitely important to eat healthfully and watch what you put into your body.  But it’s also important to pay attention to the products we use around the house.  Conventional cleaning products are filled with toxic ingredients.

When I first decided to go au naturale with the cleaners, I was a little nervous.  I used to be a straight up bleach girl.  I actually loved the smell of bleach and felt it was the only thing that got things truly “clean.”  Meanwhile, I was inhaling toxic chemicals and dousing the surfaces of my home with poison.  I still keep a canister of disinfectant wipes under the sink to wipe down the counter tops after preparing poultry because I fear salmonella.  However, the rest of my cleaners are pretty green and they either have nice smells or even better yet, no smells at all.  Bonus?  They get the job done!

(Click the pictures for the company websites)

First up is the cleaner I use most:

Mrs. Meyers All Purpose Cleaner in Lemon Verbena

I LOVE this stuff.  A bottle lasts forever because it’s super concentrated.  I just mix a quarter cup of cleaner into a quart spray bottle of water and clean away.  I use it on everything.  Here’s a quick list:

  • glass
  • windows
  • bathroom surfaces
  • counter tops
  • bathroom floor
  • toilet (outside and seat)

Mrs. Meyer’s Dish Soap – Geranium Scent

This stuff smells heavenly.  Obviously I use it for dish cleaning.

Bon Ami

This is basically an Earth-friendly version of Comet.  It’s all natural and does a great job for the dirty jobs.  Here’s how I use it:

  • scrub the sinks (kitchen and bathroom)
  • scrub the tub
  • scrub tile grout (with a toothbrush – Cinderella style)

Seventh Generation Toilet Bowl Cleaner

This is an all-natural toilet bowl cleaner that is used for scrubbing the bowl.

Method Daily Shower Cleaner

I do a quick spritz of this stuff after every shower – walls and shower curtain.

Method Tub-N-Tile Cleaner

After scrubbing the tub with Bon Ami, I wipe down the tile shower walls with this spray.   It smells minty and fresh.  I love it!

Distilled White Vinegar

Good old fashioned cleaning and disinfecting…without chemicals.  Click the picture above for a list of uses for cleaning with vinegar.  I use it mostly to clean the hardwood floors that make up most of my casa.  I just take a bucket, a gallon of hot water and 1/2 cup of vinegar.  I dunk an old hand towel, ring it out and wash dirt and grime away.  (Of course I sweep and Swiffer first to remove all loose dirt and dust).  I like to kneel on a beach towel and use the ends to dry as I go (working from back far corner out).

So there you have it.  A list of all-natural cleaning products that will get your house squeaky clean.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

