Playing Catch up

August 22, 2009 at 12:02 am | Posted in breakfast, dinner, green monster, lunch, running, salad, snacks, workouts | Leave a comment

It’s been a few crazy days. Without boring you with all the gory details, I’ll tell you that my car has been in the shop since Wednesday, someone who is not me or my husband bought a computer with his debit card for over $1,000 and a pair of sandals that I ordered in May never arrived because they never processed the order, yet charged aforementioned debit card. I’ve been on the phone…a lot. But I’ve also had some great workouts and good eats, so pull up a chair and let’s catch up, shall we?

Let’s start with workouts:

FIT

WEDNESDAY

I was stresssssssssssed out dealing with fraudulent charges and incompetent service people all day. Yoga was in order. I did the 20 minute detox yoga from Yoga Download and felt really great afterward.

THURSDAY

I decided I wanted to be speedy and it was too hot for words, so I did a quick two miles on the treadmill. Here’s what I pounded out:

Distance: 2 miles
Time: 18:00
Avg. Pace: 8:58/mile
Max HR: 184 bpm
Avg. HR: 164 bpm
Calories: 213 (30 % fat)
Power Through Song: “Good Girls Go Bad” Cobra Starship

FRIDAY

Today was my long run day. After fighting with nike+ online (I still love you, don’t worry), my run finally posted. Stats I’m proud of (unlike last week’s long run):

Distance: 6.76 miles
Time: 1:09:40
Avg. Pace: 10:18/mile
Max HR: 178 bpm
Avg. HR: 170 bpm
Calories: 745 (!!) (25% fat)
Power Through Song: “Sweetness” Jimmy Eat World / “Get Up” James Brown

I had a little accomplice on this run:

P1020534

yeah, that’s blue Gatorade watered down. I had no choice. It rocked my socks and really helped on this hot and humid day. I am aware it is chemical. Don’t judge.

Also…I have to say how much I LOVE MY POLAR BOTTLE. That blue madness stayed chilly the whole time – even in my hot little hand!

On to eats…

HEALTHY

WEDNESDAY

Breakfast was a green monster.

P1020524

In the mix:

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • organic baby spinach
  • cantaloupe
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 T Amazing Meal
  • 1 T ground flax

I had to take a shot of those pretty colors together.
P1020526

MORNING SNACK

I had a Clif ZBar for snack-a-roo.

P1020525

LUNCH

was pizza. I didn’t take a pic. I was with a friend and am still an incognito blogger. It had fresh mozz, tomato and balsamic.

DINNER

dinnerMixed baby greens with red pears, pecans and goat cheese. Balsamic vinaigrette dressing. Yummalicious.

THURSDAY

BREAKFAST

green monster

P1020527

In the mix:

  • organic baby spinach
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • handful cantaloupe
  • 1 T almond butter
  • 1 T ground flax
  • 1 T Amazing Meal

MORNING SNACK

P1020528

This handful of TJ’s peanut butter-filled pretzels x2

LUNCH

Veggie wrap – lavash flatbread, hummus, avocado, red bell pepper, shredded carrot, broccoli slaw

P1020529

DINNER

P1020530

Salad of organic baby arugula, my friend’s grandma’s home grown tomatoes, red onion and shaved parmesan.

P1020531

Plus organic whole wheat pasta with turkey meatballs.

FRIDAY

PRE-RUN

P1020532

Kashi H2H with almond milk

POST-RUN

P1020535

Smoothie of light chocolate soy milk, baby spinach, frozen banana and 1 T Amazing Meal. (Not naming this one a green monster…it’s just not monster-y enough for me). What color does that remind you of? Hmmmm… It did taste delish though.

LUNCH

Lunch was eaten at the beach today. Here’s what I packed along:

zbar loupe oikos

TJ’s Organic Greek yogurt – Honey flavor, cantaloupe and a chocolate chip ZBar.

AFTERNOON SNACK

More TJ’s PB-filled pretzel nuggets. I’m becoming obsessed…move over Tempting trail mix!

DINNER

We went to one of our favorite spots…Grimaldi’s for brick oven pizza. We invited my mom along. (Disclaimer…these shots were taken with hub’s old Blackberry. I left mine at home and forgot the camera). I started with this salad, which I split with Mumsy.

salad

It was baby spinach, walnuts and craisins with raspberry vinaigrette. It was a little dressing-y, but still good.

pizza

Then Mumsy and I split a personal pizza. This was my slice. It had fresh mozzarella, eggplant and spinach. I ate that slice and half of another. The spinach made it very filling!

FUN In fun news, I picked up my bike yesterday! I’m going to have hubbers take a sweet pic of me with it tomorrow. I’ll def be rocking my totally cool pink helmet also! I took it out for a little 5-mile spin last night. I did my usual 3 mile running loop (13 mins on the bike compared with 28 or so running) and then came back home and rode along side hubbers for his 2 mile jog for some motivation.

I’m super excited to have my bike to exercise, but also to run quick errands. I hate starting the car, wasting gas and polluting the environment just to go to the post office or the library.

In other news, my friend loaned me her Twilight dvd. I have seen it, of course; but hubbers hasn’t, of course. I’m going to try to seduce him into watching it tonight. Hopefully it’ll work 😉

That was a lot to catch up on friends, let’s do this again real soon!

SIG2

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

