First Half Recap

May 3, 2010 at 7:09 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Well, it’s been a while since I’ve shown my face…or words as the case may be save for updating my training page. Let’s just say that since my last post (April 8th), some things have occurred. I have…

P1000296P1000305

Eaten exactly three breakfasts that were not smoothies. The two pictured above and my pre-race meal which is still to come.

P1000306

Used xanthan gum in a smoothie. (Thickness for real.) I’m not really sure how I feel about it.

P1000308

Made Averie’s peanut butter cookie dough balls with extra protein. These will get their own post soon. They are TDF.

P1000312

Purchased my second magic bullet after my first one bit the dust almost five years after I got it. I’m loving this spritely new motor!

P1000313

Got new running shoes that I’m in love with! (Brooks Ghost 2)

P1000314

They took some getting used to…

P1000315

Sick. They’re so light and speedy though, that they’re worth any pain they inflicted.

P1000316

Made about 298,339,398 Chocolate Cherry Bomb Shakes (kristensraw.com).

AND ran my first half marathon! I couldn’t have been more excited to run. I knew I was very prepared and couldn’t wait to get out there. Here’s all my gear:

P1000317

Road ID, iPod, Sport Beans, Garmin and splits written on a note paper which was stuffed in my shorts.

P1000318

Pre-race meal of toast, PB and banana. Of course with coffee.

P1000321

Happy runner at the start!

P1000325

Mile 3. I was SO excited to see the husbo standing on the median. I was waving for a few minutes before he saw me. I blew a kiss and I was off!

P1000326

Running away. Where’s Waldo?

I wound up running 2:06:59 (my chip time). Thanks girl in the green shorts for ruining my finish pic.

P1000333

Happy to see my mom at the finish (she’s down there in blue) and Husbo right behind!

P1000334

P1000336

Did a tiny bit of post-race stretching. Not enough because today my legs are SORE! I have to roll around a bit on the foam roller. Not even an ice bath could save those half-marathoning legs!

All in all, I’m thrilled I did it. As I was running, I couldn’t believe I was actually doing it. I was running a half marathon! I was a bit emotional in the beginning, reading people’s inspirational shirts, watching a man run in full Army combat gear in honor of US veterans. I was just so happy. The first six miles absolutely flew by. I definitely got slower by the end. It didn’t help that it was humid as anything and it reached about 75 – 80*.

The verdict? I can’t wait for my next half! I’m definitely doing one in October. Right now, I’ve got a 5K coming up in three weeks to get ready for. I’m going to be hitting the track hard! So stay tuned!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Congrats again!!!

  2. Xanthan gum is great, you can even bake some cake out of it. It is a great for some of use who have gluten allergy. ;”‘`”

    My current web portal
    http://www.prettygoddess.com


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

