A Shoe Workout?

April 8, 2010 at 8:16 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

I just returned from my 5 mile training run.  I ran the same time as Tuesday’s 5 miles.  My pace was identical!  Freaky.  My splits were a little more consistent on this run though.

Mile 1 – 8:53
Mile 2 – 8:55
Mile 3 – 8:45
Mile 4 – 8:42
Mile 5 – 8:33

I really should have averaged less on mile 3, but I had a pretty long traffic light stop.  Although my Garmin’s auto-pause feature was on (the timer stops when you’re stopped), it takes a few seconds to register, slowing your pace.  Oh well.

I am now wearing my Recovery Socks that I ordered to help keep my leggies fresh in these last few weeks of half marathon training.

Here’s some info about the benefits of the socks from the Recovery Socks website:

  • Boost performance
  • Stimulate blood circulation
  • Improves oxygen delivery to muscles
  • Lactic acid production reduced
  • Proven cramp relief
  • Exclusive wicking antibacterial fiber
  • Worldwide patent
  • Tested and used by world class athletes

I will share a pic of my socks later in the week.  My camera is charging as we speak.  These are the socks I got:

My legs feel pretty good.  These are a pretty legit way to recover.  After stretching of course.

On to something not so legit.

I was sitting down to enjoy my post run smoothie (which was dinner since the husbo was out having cocktails with coworkers) and toast and I saw a commercial for Sketchers Shape-Ups.  It wasn’t this exact commercial, but here’s the gist:

Now, the commercial I saw actually said “All of the benefits without the effort of working out!”  I mean COME ON.  I totally get the whole walking on an uneven surface engages more muscles and makes you work your core.  That’s great.  I’m not totally opposed to these things, but the benefits of working out?  Wearing shoes is NOT a workout.  Working out is not easy.  If it was, we’d all be walking around looking like supermodels.  Working out is hard, but it will give you results.  Walking in space boot looking sneakers will not.

This just made me a little crazy and I had to vent it out because I know that people are buying these things thinking they’re getting  a workout.  And Joe Montana?  Spare me.  These shoes are not going to make your butt and thighs smaller.  Walking at a brisk pace, running or jogging for at least a half hour four times a week will make everything smaller.  Yes, it’s harder…but it works.  Take your $110 and buy some good walking or running shoes and get up and move.

That is all.

How do you feel about Shape Ups, Fit Flops, and those Reebok versions of “butt-lifting, calf-working, thigh-slimming, cellulite-reducing” shoes?

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Andrea. Andrea said: A Shoe Workout?: http://wp.me/pzfvl-7p [...]

  2. This shoe workout stuff is ridiculous. I see these commecials while AT the gym sweating my butt off on the treadmill. Really people? Come on.

  3. LMK when the post is up:)

  4. Nice splits!!

    I think those shoes are ridiculous! I always laugh at really out of shape people when I see them sporting those shoes. I mean, really? TAKES the PLACE of working out? I’m all for walking, but those shoes are dumb.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

