Well, well, well…

April 6, 2010 at 9:04 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

…look who decided to show up.  It’s me.  I apologize for the absence, but I was a little busy on my week off last week.

I was a little busy transforming this:

to this:

This project took me ALL WEEK LONG!  But I’m loving the way my newly painted cabinets look!  I spent a lot of time in my basement last week.  I laid out all of the cabinet doors down there, pumped up some Pandora and painted away.

I was sure to use proper protection.  Don’t be too jealous of that hot basement wall paper in the background.  (Or my sweet face mask for that matter).

Something a little crazy also happened while I’ve been away.  I woke up Monday morning with a severe craving for something I haven’t had in a long time…

Oats!  I made an oat/oat bran mix with banana and Justin’s honey peanut butter.  Hit the spot.

Never fear, smoothies were consumed throughout the week.  However, they were all GREEN!

One of those was a “Peaches and Cream” smoothie.  It had coconut milk, spinach, half a banana and a cup of frozen sliced peaches with a scoop of vanilla protein powder.  Keeper for sure.

Another shocking thing…I went all week without a cherry chocolate bomb!  Stunning I know.

The mighty return on Monday!

Another first happened over my vacay.  In addition to my regular training runs, I did my first double digit training run!  10 miles!

It took me a total of 1:34:56 – a 9:29 pace.  I was very proud…and exhausted when it was over.  I can’t believe that in less than a month, I’ll be running that amount plus 3.1 more miles!

Splits:

Mile 1 – 9:30
Mile 2 – 9:26
Mile 3 – 9:31
Mile 4 – 9:30
Mile 5 – 9:36
Mile 6 – 9:30
Mile 7 – 9:23
Mile 8 – 9:51
Mile 9 – 9:16
Mile 10 –  9:20

Today’s training run was also one to be noted.  I ran 5 miles…5 minutes faster than my 5 mile race time in November.

Splits:

Mile 1 – 9:10
Mile 2 – 8:44
Mile 3 – 8:50
Mile 4 – 8:48
Mile 5 – 8:22

Total time was 43:56 for an average pace of 8:47 per mile.  That’s a minute faster per mile in 5 months!  I was a happy camper.

The final new thing I tried over vacay was Hot Barkan Method yoga.  The Barkan Method differs from Bikram in that the standing series of the class is an hour and the floor series is half an hour.  It was INTENSE.  I was sore for two day in my shoulders, arms and back.  I will definitely be trying this class again!

Until next time!

What is your favorite style of yoga?

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Your cabinets look fab sister! The face mask is to die for as well. It reminds me of cleaning mold out of our attic. HA


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

